Drivers in Texas by are required by law to pay for any damages from accidents that they cause. Liability insurance is the minimum coverage that drivers must have. When the driver is at fault in an accident, liability pays to repair the other driver’s car and also pays for their medicals expenses. Liability does not cover the driver’s car repair or injuries. You must purchase additional insurance if your want coverage for yourself and your property.
When you buy car insurance in Texas it must meet the state law by purchasing the minimum amount, which is the 30/60/25 coverage. This means the minimum insurance liability limit for injured individuals is $30K, up to a maximum of $60K per accident, and property damage per accident of $25K.
To obtain auto insurance you must contact and insurance company or agent in your area. Rates vary among different companies, so make sure to shop around and get quotes from several different companies before you make a decision.
You are required to have proof of financial responsibility when and if your purchase car insurance in TX. If you violate the state’s certain finance laws, you will be charged a minimum fine of $175, which can increase based upon the number and type of offenses that you have. Educated yourself further at The Texas Department of Insurance.
To get auto insurance for young drivers and to meet the state’s financial requirements parents must either add their children to their auto policy or buy them a separate policy, which can be more expensive. As soon your child reaches driving age make sure you list hem on your policy. In the event of an accident, your claim and coverage can be denied or your insurance can refuse to renew your policy if all of your drivers are not listed on your policy.